PDA

View Full Version : factory cb radio


78brncoxlt
02-05-2009, 11:24 PM
I'm currently looking for a factory cb for my 78 bronco. I'm not sure what model i'm looking for.I've only seen the mic in the brochure so I wouldn't know one if I saw it.could someone please post a picture of theirs. it would help me out on my quest. Many thanks.

MIL1ION
02-05-2009, 11:39 PM
http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i75/mil1ion/67-79%20Ford%20Truck%20Information/F-Series%20Brochure%20Info/79FordCBRadio.jpg

http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i75/mil1ion/67-79%20Ford%20Truck%20Information/Accessories%20and%20Emblems/CbRadioBack.jpg
http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i75/mil1ion/67-79%20Ford%20Truck%20Information/Accessories%20and%20Emblems/CBRadioTruckVersion.jpg

http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i75/mil1ion/67-79%20Ford%20Truck%20Information/Ford%20Part%20Number%20and%20Application/FordRadioStereoNumbers.jpg

78brncoxlt
02-05-2009, 11:51 PM
So the radio and cb are one unit.Thats why the mic has everything built into it.Awwww.I did not know that.This helps.thanks

MIL1ION
02-05-2009, 11:54 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/nos-ford-cb-radio_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQ_trkparmsZ72Q3a1205Q7c66Q3 a2Q7c65Q3a12Q7c39Q3a1Q7c240Q3a1318Q7c301Q3a1Q7c293 Q3a1Q7c294Q3a50QQ_trksidZp3286Q2ec0Q2em14QQhashZit em190284484199QQitemZ190284484199QQptZMotorsQ5fCar Q5fTruckQ5fPartsQ5fAccessories

jr78f150
02-07-2009, 12:25 AM
no,not one unit.on a bronco the CB is located behind the rear panel behind the drivers door post and the wires run under the carpet to the mike on the dash. i have one here that isnt installed that i can take pics of as soon as i get my other computer hooked up to DSL. if you still need the pics in about a week PM me

jr78f150
02-07-2009, 12:29 AM
the one on ebay is still dirt cheap but then you would still need the harness,mike,antenna and antenna splitter

Ranger429
02-07-2009, 08:12 AM
The control box mounts behind the rear cargo panel on the driver side. On all factory equipped Bronco's there would be no ash tray. The wiring ties into the factory radio harness.

When I put the CB in my Bronco I used a new speaker for the dash to run the CB. Doing it that way does not tie into the sound system.

http://www.supermotors.net/getfile/632922/fullsize/dsc02424.jpg

Factory AM/FM/CB antenna, probably the hardest thing to find, that is if you ever find one. If you cannot find the antenna you can use a normal CB antenna and get an adapter to hook it up from Radio Shack.

http://www.supermotors.net/getfile/632923/fullsize/dsc02428.jpg

Bronco79
02-08-2009, 11:44 PM
Ranger, I just installed my factory CB, although, I'm going a little different route than you for your speaker, and antenna (it is still not fully installed, I still need to work my relay system, and get the antenna hooked up.

1, when we had the CB unit in my dad's old 79 (he bought it new from the factory), the CB reception was very poor using the factory antenna, so I'm going to run an aftermarket antenna off the left rear bumper, and run the wiring inside from there to the CB unit mounted in the stock location.

2, Obviously you figured out that the relay system in the factory CB does not cut it with the newer stereos (factory unit used a ground side chassis/speaker wire) so I'm going to rig up a new relay system, so that it will still use the left speaker like stock, but it will cut the positive and negative wires from the aftermarket stereo, and power the positive and negative from the CB, that way I should have no problems with either.

I thought that my chassis for the CB unit was buggered, because I could hear the relay clicking in the back, but could not get anything on the screen on the handheld (I knew that it worked last time it was hooked up), Dummy me forgot to check the fuse on the chassis... it was blown.... replaced that, and she works again....

now to finish off the rest and start broadcasting...

http://www.albertashoclub.ca/dscf5235.jpg

http://www.albertashoclub.ca/dscf5277.jpg

http://www.albertashoclub.ca/dscf5279.jpg

http://www.albertashoclub.ca/dscf5282.jpg

http://www.albertashoclub.ca/dscf5283.jpg

Ranger429
02-09-2009, 04:40 PM
Bronco79 you added this CB system to your Bronco correct? Only reason I'm asking is because of where you have the mic hangar. Out of 2 factory equipped Bronco's that I've parted both had the mic hangar where I put it in my Bronco.

Also I agree on the signal strength. If your looking to talk for miles this is not the CB to do it with. I only put it in my Bronco because of the rare factor of it.

Bronco79
02-09-2009, 04:43 PM
Yeah, I added this just last night to the Bronco. The actual CB system has been in the family since new, my dad had it installed from the factory in his old 79, and the original mic clip broke, so we improvised and installed one from a cobra on the back, so it will fit into the aftermarket mic holder clips

Ranger429
02-09-2009, 04:46 PM
That's to bad, between the mic hangar and the antenna those are the 2 hardest things to find.

Bronco79
02-09-2009, 04:48 PM
I still have the antenna, it is on my 93 F350 (owned by my parents before me, we installed the CB unit in there)

Ranger429
02-09-2009, 04:58 PM
Don't lose that antenna, it is worth quite a bit.

Bronco79
02-09-2009, 05:00 PM
I'll definitely be keeping it, that's for sure

79time
02-09-2009, 07:40 PM
How much do you want for the antenna?

SwampMaster
02-09-2009, 09:00 PM
I just had to finally add to one of these CB posts. As many Broncos as I have had, I have never had one with a factory CB. The closest I came was one that had the wierdest antenna wire I had ever seen. It was Y'ed , but there was no sign of there ever being a CB in the Bronco. The only thing I can think of is the antenna had been replaced at one time.
Swamp